krista lucas photography {blog}

January 4, 2011

the wecks family {newark, ca family session}

Filed under: baby, family — kristalucasphotography @ 12:21 am

When we were making our plans for Christmas this year, we decided to go visit my family for several days during the week after Christmas. Only about a week or two before our trip, I found out that baby Scarlett (whose parents’ maternity photos I shot in September, and whose mother I have known since she was about 7 years old) had been diagnosed with a congenital glioblastoma multiforme, an egg-sized tumor in her brain. I immediately offered to shoot some family photos for them while we were in town, and all worked out so I could do so.  As a photographer, I know that I am doing something that people will treasure forever, but in this case I felt that about a million times more. Even though this was a gift to them, the gift they gave me of letting me into their story for just a little while is priceless and will leave me forever changed. Scarlett goes in for surgery to hopefully remove the tumor on January 5th – I plan to wear red that day and pray for her and her family with all my heart. Read more about their story here.

Her mama loves to read to her, and this is one of her favorites:

Brandi’s mom, Brandi, and Scarlett – three generations.


We got some smiles! 🙂

They call her their butterfly.

1 Comment »

  1. Beautiful photos. I have been following their story from baby center and their blog. You did a great job!

    Comment by Jaclynn — January 4, 2011 @ 9:06 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

